Monday, January 11, 2010

I love my birdies!!!

Let me just start by saying CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!....to the best NFL team, AZ Cardinals!!!!! You came through in overtime last night and won it against the Packers! I knew we could do it! Next week, it's time to take on the Saints...(my other fav)...this is going to be an interesting one for sure! I am still standing behind my Cards though, they are afterall my #1! Just had to do some shouting out about it! lol. Now lets take the Superbowl!!


Thursday, November 19, 2009

My "Get Healthy" Plan

Todays blog is about........drum roll please.........my health regimine!! I've always been the type that loves trying new things to keep myself healthy. I have posted a few of my favorites in some past blogs, but today Im going to show you a few things I have everyday. Here goes!.....


I try to go to they gym once every day or every other day, depending on my schedule. I usually go at night, Im sooo not a morning person! lol. I do about 30 min cardio + 1hr weight machines/free weights. I have never done any classes, but plan trying some out within the next couple of weeks.


First thing in the morning I will have a cup of hot tea, Yerba Mate or Green Tea. I usually drink this right away to wake me up. A couple hours later I'll have some breakfast, if Im in a hurry I'll have a Hemp Protein Shake w/fat-free Soy or Almond milk with a 1/2 scoop of Macca Powder (amazing stuff). If its not a shake day, I'll have some granolla cereal (Cascade Farms Dark Chocolate Almond..yum!!) w/fruit & Soy milk, yogurt w/fruit, or just some plain ol' fruit! I usually have blueberries, strawberries & banana's which is my specialty!











I will sip on some green tea after that, along with some water...gotta drink your 8 glasses a day! For lunch I usually have salad. I love salads!! Try to stay away from the creamy dressings..unless their fat-free, then they're not as bad. I usually try to stay with a balsamic or vinigarette of some type. Make your salad with spinach leaves, they are packed with nutrients and are super good for you. If you don't like that much spinach, you can make a salad with 1/2 spinach & 1/2 romaine, or whatever it is you like. I LOVE veggies, so I always pack my salads full of them! I usually will add cucumber, tomato, red onion, and bell peppers every time...if I have anything else laying around, Ill toss that in too. You need your protein so you can always add a chicken breast or light fish to your salads.





If I'm not feeling like a salad that day, I'll have a wrap or sandwich. I use a low-carb whole wheat tortilla or a whole wheat/12 grain bread, add some sliced turkey, lettuce, tomato, cucumbers (love cucumbers on my sandwiches/wraps!), and a light dressing or mustard. Alot of meat counters at grocery stores are selling low sodium meats now. You don't want to over do the sodium in your diet, it isn't that great for you. If you add any cheese, try to buy a low-fat version. Remember, when buying any dairy/meat products, "low" anything is better. Also, try to stay away from the fatty meats, such as pork/red meats. They are harder for your body to digest and have more sodium. I always keep away from these and eat chicken, turkey or fish.



There are a few other lunches I throw together sometimes that are really fast and still very healthy. Sometimes I'll take a can of mixed beans or garbonzo beans (organic!), drain them, then toss them with a can of tuna and add some light dressing (Italian, light honey-dijon, etc.). This is super fast and you get all the good stuff you need.

If I get hungry between meals I like to snack on veggies w/hummus, Kashi TLC Bars (cherry dark chocolate is my fav), rice cakes (I like caramel), fruit with 1TBS Nutella (this stuff is SOOO addictive!!!), or some plain almonds.
When it comes to dinner, I try to make this a fairly light meal. If you eat most of your heavier foods durring the day, it gives your body more time to digest before you go to sleep. I like to just have a light salad for dinner. If Im not too hungry, I'll just have a small bowl of cereal or some fruit/veggies. I also have some tea before I go to bed.

Here are a list of vitamines I take each day:

  • Omega Fish Oil - 2 capsules ea. day (great for your skin & metabolism..along w/other stuff)
  • Multi Vitamin - 1 ea. day
  • B-Complex - 1 ea. day

For the past 2 weeks I have been getting a B12 shot at my doctors office, so I haven't been taking the B-Complex vitamin. B12 shots give you a great boost of energy that lasts through the week. They are also really great for speeding up your metabolism, lowering stress levels, getting you focused, and they make you feel just really great all around! I plan on going in once each week for about 1 month and getting a shot to boost up the B12 in my body, then slowing down to every other week. Each shot costs around $20, this is for the basic B12. You can also ask for their B12 Turbo-Slim..I believe that's what its called. This shot is around $30 and is the basic B12 + added ingredients to help boost your metabolism and burn fat. You may want to ask your doctor about these, I'm not sure of all the details.

Drinks!

  • Try drinking a glass of H20 with 1/2 lemon worth of lemon juice and some Cayene pepper. (Cleans out your system & metabolism booster)
  • Kombucha (Curbs appetite, boost metabolism, great for you!)
  • Green Tea (Always drink at least 1 cup a day. Boost metabolism, helps fight diseases/cancers, curb appetite)
  • Always drink 8 glasses of WATER!!! (flushes out your system, keeps you healthy!!)

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Shall we have a cup of tea??

Oooh tea...I just love me some hot tea, or cold, doesn't really matter. For now though, I enjoy the hot stuff...since its so cold outside!! The other day I bought some tea called Yerba Mate. It is AMAZING! There are soooo many health benifits from this stuff! Plus, it is so naturally caffinated that there is no need to drink coffee! Which is already a hard task for me, I love my coffee! lol. It really does the job of waking you up and kickin you in gear!



I usually will drink about 3-5 cups of tea each day. Yerba Mate first thing in the morning, to get me up and going. Then throughout the day I alternate on green tea, yerba mate, detox tea, black tea or oolong tea, depending on what I feel like having that day. I always try to drink at least 1 green tea though, helpls your metabolism. At night I like to drink some relaxing tea's like chamomile before I hit the sack.

Since I've started drinking tea each day, Ive felt so great! My skin looks healthier, I feel more focused and energized, and I just feel better. Tea is so cheap, and it lasts a while..so its def worth the try. So go out and get yourself some tea!! ;)

Saturday, October 24, 2009

This Should Keep You Busy For A While..

1. What was the last thing you put in your mouth?
Yerba Mate tea...drinking it right now :)



2. Where was your profile pic taken?
Back of a limo, friends birthday, Vegas 2009.



3. Can you play Guitar Hero?
Umm, yeah!! And I must say, Im an expert...on easy!!! haha!



4. Name someone who made you laugh today. What was it about?
My dad! We were at Eyeglass World buying him some cool new specks! I think that could explain it!! lol



5. How late did you stay up last night and why?
About 3am... I went out with some friends...drank a lil too much! woops!!



6. If you could move somewhere else where would it be and why?
Hawaii, for the permo vacationer style livin!! Cali, to have the city + the ocean and to learn how to surf too! ;) New York, to start my life completly over and do something daring! Oh, and the weather would be an awesome change from hot ass AZ!! Finally, Seattle. Just because if I moved there I'd totally open up a little coffee shop. For some reason Seattle just seems like the coffee capitol to me! lol



7. Ever been kissed under fireworks?
Yep! ;)



8. Which of your friends lives closest to you?
Well, I actually live with my best friend Gina. So, I'd have to go with her.



9. Do you believe ex's can be friends? With benefits?
I think ex's can be friends, but it can be hard. With benefits? I almost think that not really moving on at all. But whatever floats your boat I guess..



10. Do you like Dr. Pepper?
Not really. I don't like soda too much.



11. When was the last time you cried really hard?
I actually just got done crying. It wasn't "really hard" type crying though. Just got a little upset over an argument with my bf. Ugh! Guys really do suck sometimes!! :/



12. Who took your profile picture?
I believe it was Josh, he was in the limo with us.



13. Who was the last person you took a picture of?
My brother at his bootcamp graduation in the Air Force.



14. Was yesterday better than today? Why?
No, today was better. Yesterday I worked then went out with some friends. Going out just doesn't really do it for me anymore. Today, my parents came into town to visit me from Pinetop so I had fun hanging out with them. Just minus the whole bf upset and it was a pretty great day!



15. Can you live a day without TV?
Considering I've gone years without cable, I think I could tuff it out! lol



16. Are you upset about anything now?
Yeah, but I don't wanna make this whole blog about him! I'm actually pretty much over it by now anyways. Writing helps :)



17. Do you think relationships are ever really worth it?
Yes. How else are you supposed to meet the "one"? lol.



18. Are you a bad influence?
Hmm...sadly, I probably could be better. Im really not THAT bad though!



19. Night out or night in?
Night in. I'm kinda getting over the whole going out thing. But it is cool every once in a while.



20. What items could you not go without during the day?
My phone, it has access to EVERYTHING! I'd be lost without it! lol



21. Who was the last person you visited in the hospital?
Wow, so this past year has been crazy!! I've been to the hospital so many times! Not for me. I've gone to visit my grandpa a few times, he's just getting old. :( Then there was my Uncle who got into a horrible car accident. He's been in and out a bunch this year for surgeries, so I've visited him too. Next up on the list, my dad will be going in for knee surgery in a couple weeks so I'll be there again! Man, my family is really falling apart!! eek!



22. What does the last text message in your inbox say?
Well right now my texting is broken!!! AHH!!! I cant stand it!!!



23. How do you feel about your life right now?
Im in a major rut right now. Stressed outta my mind..too much for a 22 year old ya know! lol. I'm pretty antsy to move away and get my life started. Over all, I'd say my life could be worse...but it could most def be better too! Just gotta stay motivated!!



24. Do you hate anyone?
Hate's a strong word. But there are a couple people I STRONGLY dislike, yes.



25. If we were to look in your Facebook inbox, what would we find?
A bunch of messages back & forth from me and my bf...and some random ad things from restraunts.



26. Say you were given a drug test right now, would you pass?
Do I have to answer this one???



27. Has anyone ever called you perfect before?
Yes. So sweet :)

28. What song did you recently belt out?
Some country song I heard on the radio...cant remember the name of it. lol

29. Someone knocks on your window at 2am, whom do you want it to be?
My prince charming. heehee ;)

30. Do you (or did you) want to have grandkids before you're 50?
I've never honestly ever thought about it! Im not even thinking of my own kids yet!!! haha!

31. Tell us your Saturday night.
Stay in, watch a movie, mess around online, cook myself dinner or order take-out. I ocasionally go out, but most of my Saturdays are like this.

32. Do you think too much or too little?
Too much! I hate it!

33. Do you smile alot?
I try to. I should smile more...maybe someday when I'm happier.

34. The phone rings. Who will it be?
My family, bf, or Gina.

35. When shopping at the grocery store, do you return your cart?
I try to most of the time. My 1st job was at a grocery store, so I know exactly what it's like having to go get all the stray carts. Not fun! lol

36. In a social setting, are you more of a talker or a listener?
Listener. I'm a pretty shy person.

37. Do you take compliments well?
Yeah, I think they're nice. But sometimes they can get weird...like if the person's gushing about your or something, then they're just uncomfortable. lol

38. Do you play Sudoku?
What is that???

39. If abandoned alone in the wilderness, would you survive?
Umm, maybe. I wouldn't bet $ on it though! lol. I would eventually starve to death. Living off of plants would be hard. I'd probably eat a poisonous one and die. Or I'd get eaten by a bear, or a mountain lion, or bit by a snake. Sheesh! I don't have much confidence in myself!!!! haha!

40. Did you ever go to camp as a kid?
A couple times. I went with girl scouts.

41. What was your favorite game as a kid?
I just liked being outside going on adventures and building forts and stuff. Does that count?

42. If a sexy person was pursuing you, but you knew he was married would you?
Probably not. I try to have my boundries.

43. Could you date someone with different religious beliefs than you?
It depends. Im not a strong religious person at all, so if the person was a real holy-roller type, then probably not. But if they just had different beliefs but weren't all out there about it, then sure. I guess I'd just deal with it then...

44. Do you like to pursue or be pursued?
Being pursued. Im not a very outgoing person, so pursuing is a little harder for me. But it can't be too easy, then its just boring. lol

45. Use three words to describe yourself.
Kind, Shy, Creative

46. Do any songs make you cry?
Yes, I hear songs, depending on the day, that will make me cry. One that comes to mind right now is "Whisky Lullaby". That has to be one of the sadest songs I've heard lately.

47. Are you continuing your education?
I tried dental school, but that wasn't really my cup of tea. Right now, Im trying to pay them back. When thats done, I plan on going back to school.

48. Do you know how to shoot a gun?
The last time I shot a gun, I was like 8 or something. I went shooting with my dad. I could probably figure it out now though.

49. Have you ever taken pictures in a photo booth?
I haven't!! I really need to!!!!

50. Do you think more about the past, present or future?
The past. I wish I could think more about the present/future, maybe then I'd be more determined and resposible!

51. How often do you read books?
Not often enough! I have 2 books that I bought months ago that I still have yet to start reading. I like inspirational books, or self-help. I wish I had more time to read :(

52. What is your favorite childrens book?
I don't really have a favorite. I guess I like the Dr. Seuss books. Or "Where The Wild Things Are".

53. What color are your eyes?
Green/Hazel

54. How tall are you?
5'7"

55. Where is your dream house located?
Hawaii, right on the beach.

56. If your house was on fire, what would be the first thing you'd grab?
Photo albums and my camera, which has tons of pics on it.

57. When was the last time you were at Olive Garden?
Like June/July 2009. I went with my brother before he shipped out.

58. Where was the furthest place you traveled today?
From the couch to the kitchen! lol

59. Do you like mustard?
Yes!!! I love mustard!!! Yellow, spicy, dijon...mmm!!!!

60. Do you prefer to sleep or eat?
I guess sleep. But I love to eat too!! This is a hard one!

61. Do you look like your mom or your dad?
Im a mix of both, but I think I look more like my dad. My brother got alot of my mom.

62. How long does it take you in the shower?
Around 20 min. Shaving sucks!!! lol

63. Can you do the splits?
Ha!! I'd probably pull something...or get stuck.

64. What movie do you want to see right now?
New York, I Love You
100 Days of Summer

65. What did you do for New Years?
At that time I was working at a bar. I actually had a pretty good New Years, considering I was working.

66. Do you think The Grudge was scary?
It wasn't too bad. I was in high school when I saw it, so I dont really remember too much of it.

67. Do you own a camera phone?
Do phones come without them anymore?

68. Was your mom a cheerleder?
Not at all. My mom was the shy girl in school that didn't have too many friends...exactly how I was! Although, it did get a little better around Jr. year.

69. What is the last letter of your middle name?
N.

70. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?
Around 5-6. I wish I got more!!!

71. Do you like Care Bears?
The show or the dolls? I used to like them...when I was 5!

72. What do you buy at the movies?
Raisinetts, popcorn, or nachos...and a sprite! Sometimes though, I sneak thoes tiny bottles of wine in and I'll drink a couple of those instead! heehee!

73. Do you know how to play poker?
Not really..

74. Do you wear your seat belt?
Yep! I always do.

75. What do you wear to sleep?
Underwear and a shirt. I dont like wearing alot to bed. It just gets all tangled up and I dont like being hot when I sleep.

76. Anything big ever happen in you hometown?
We had a really bad fire one time. Lots of homes were lost, and we all had to evacuate.

77. How many meals do you eat a day?
Usually I eat 3.

78. Is your tongue pierced?
Nope.

79. Do you like funny or serious people better?
Funny! Who wants to be serious all the time anyways??!?

80. Ever been to L.A.?
I just went to Cali for the first time last weekend. I went to Laguna and Santa Ana. They're close, right?! lol. No, but I really really really want to go to LA!!!

81. Did you eat a cookie today?
mmm...cookies!!!! No, I wish!!! Chocolate chip, or macaroons!!! ahh!! I want a cookie now! haha!!

82. Do you use cuss words in other languages?
Haha!! Yes! Just a couple though, thanks grandma!! lol

83. Do you steal or pay for your music downloads?
Both.

84. Do you hate chocolate?
Are you kidding?!?!! What kind of person hates chocolate?!!!

85. What do you and your parents fight about the most?
My massive debt problem. Grr....I hate money!

86. Are you a gullible person?
Yes...and it totally sucks!

87. Do you need a boyfriend to be happy?
No, they just add to my problems most of the time! lol

88. What do you think about people who party alot?
Well, considering that I have been one of those people, I know they really like to have fun...all the time. I'm getting older, so the partying has been slowing down ALOT for me, which is a very very good thing! I think the older you get, you SHOULD start to grow out of it. If not, then I think you might have some problems. You can't get that far in life by partying all the time.

89. Are you easy to get along with?
I think I am. I'm a pretty nice person.

90. What is your favorite time of the day?
As much as I hate getting up early, the very early morning is my favorite. Its quiet and peaceful.

91. How do you flush the toilet in public?
With my foot.

92. What is something that people are currently "into"that you just don't get or appreciate?
All those games on Facebook & Myspace.

93. What is something that really hoists your sail that other people might be ho-hum about?
Watching cooking shows, bookstores, going hiking.

94. What is the last thing you broke?
My windsheild of my car....a rock actually broke it.

95. A really great salad must contain which ingredient?
Tomatoes, red onion.

96. Do security cameras make you nervous?
Not usually..

97. What was the alternate name that your parents almost named you? Do you wish they had chosen it instead of the one they gave you?
My parents never told me. I like my name that I have though.

98. You get a package in the mail. What is it, and who is it from?
Omaha Steaks! My grandparents send me them in the mail all the time! I very much appreciate it!!!! :)

99. What song do you hate the most?
All of those over-played songs on the radio, anything by "Pitbull". Just cant stand him.

100. Did just mentioning that song make it get stuck in your head?
Well, now that Im thinking of it! lol. Thank god I have other music playing to drown it out!!

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

What I did this weekend....




I FINALLY went to Cali and loved every second of it!!! I went to visit my BF who's interning at a hospital (miss him so much!). I went to Santa Ana which is where he is. Its so beautiful there! We went to San Capistrano beach and played in the water...where I got soaked! lol. It was really gloomy that day so I wore jeans..bad idea to try to walk in the ocean in those!! haha! After walking around in the sand we went to eat at this cute little fish restraunt on the pier where I had the best shrimp coctail ever!!!


Saturday night we went to this hole-in-the-wall country bar. It was so fun! Everyone there was dancing to the live country band...by the way Im not so good at that! Still had a blast though!!



It was so sad having to leave Cali. Wish it coulda lasted longer than it did, but I will be going back soon!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Kombucha


I absolutely LOVE this drink!! I've been drinking them for a couple months now. I found them online when I was reading a blog by Giuliana Rancic (from E! News). She is SOOO in shape and looks great! I started reading some of her blogs and she gives tips on how she stays so skinny. It's really helpful!! But anyway, she talks about these drinks, Kombucha Synergy. If you haven't tried them...DO!! They're AWESOME!!! They have a pretty harsh taste that you'll need to get used to, so if your just starting out, I'd recommend trying the Grape, Strawberry, or my fave..Passionberry. They are a little sweeter so the harsh taste isn't as bad. They make you feel great! They completely suppress your appetite. I'll drink 1 bottle throughout the day (cant really gulp these babies down) and I wont be hungry all day! No joke!! On top of that, I'll feel just all around great! It helps keep my energy going all day with NO crashes EVER!! AWESOME!!! It's also great for your skin and hair too! So, like I said, if you haven't ever tired one, I'd definitely recommend it! I usually get mine at Whole Foods or Sprouts. They cost about $4 so they can be a bit pricey, but its worth it. If you want more info check out their website:




Oh yeah, and DON'T SHAKE them!!! Learned that one the hard way!! haha! They look like they need to be shaken, but don't. I usually just kinda tilt them SLOWLY till they're mixed a little better cuz they've got raw fruit particles floating in them. I know they'll look and taste a little weird, but trust me, once you get used to that you'll love em too!! =) So drink up loves!!




Tuesday, September 8, 2009

I wanna move!!!!!!!!!............

To New York!! I have wanted to for soooooo long now, but Im finally getting the motivation to actually get up and do it! Just need to find a 2nd job so I can pay off some bills and then I'm hittin the road Jack! I'm definitly gonna do it this time!!.....no more delays! (hopefully!!) Right now, I've got zero destractions (boys) lol, so it shouldn't be too hard. Just gotta stay focused! So, first things first, get a 2nd job....so, I'm gonna start looking today! Wish me luck!! I really want this!